Cooper River Bridge Run Weekend

One of my favorite events in Charleston is the Cooper River Bridge Run and it is tomorrow!

 I first ran the race in 2007 and have participated every year since (except for one year and I can’t remember why that was). The race sold out early this year with around 44,000 participants, so it makes for a crazy experience race.

One of my favorite parts of this race is that it is a point to point race. We start in Mt. Pleasant and end in downtown Charleston. That does make for some logistical difficulties but over the years I have gotten it figured out. On Friday night I drop my car off in a garage downtown and then on Saturday morning I get a ride or get dropped off near the start line. Then once I am done and ready to go I hop in my car and head home.

I am getting pretty excited for tomorrow. I have my race packet, outfit and playlist ready to go. I always hope for a sub 60 minute time but I am slower than I think. I am crossing my fingers for a finish time around 63 minutes tomorrow. This is my first time running a race with my Garmin so I should be able to pace myself pretty well.  

I will be back tomorrow with the results!

Do you have a favorite race?

Leave a Reply

