Plans for a Half Marathon

One of my goals for the year is to run a Half Marathon. Over the past 2 months I have been doing some research and a lot of thinking. I have never done a Half before so I want to make sure I sign up for a good one. I also want to make sure that I train and plan properly, 13.1 miles is a long way to run! While researching I have read and heard a few different things about certain races to do and not to do. From all of the above I have gathered the following:

Disney races are well organized and great for first timers
Rock N Roll races can be hit or miss, but many times a miss
Team in Training is great for first timers.
Bad reviews of the local Charleston Half Marathon

With that information I have decided that I am going after the Disney Wine and Dine Half Marathon on November 10th. I even got in touch with my local Team in Training and plan to register next week!


Questions: Do you know of a must run Half Marathon? Have you ever participated in Team in Training? 

7 thoughts on “Plans for a Half Marathon

  1. I just ran my first half-marathon last week. It was the Disney Princess Half and I can’t say enough great things about it. It was well organized, fun and relaxed. I highly recommend Disney races!

  2. A friend of mine just did the Princess Half in Disney. Looked like a ton of fun.

    DC has some great races too. I’d recommend the Cherry Blossom 10-miler.

    Good luck training!

  3. Good luck and see you at the starting line!! Too, remember that it’s a night race, so you may want to training in the evenings.

Leave a Reply

