Legs of Lead

This morning I got up before work to go for a run. The plan was to do 3 miles but as soon as I started running I knew that was going to be tough. My legs were so tired and felt so heavy. I couldn’t get them to move. I looked down at my Garmin and I was pacing 12 min + miles! I kept pushing and after a mile I was feeling a little better. As I was running I started to wonder why I felt so tired. It was hard for me to believe that just a few days ago I ran 3 miles averaging a 10:55 pace and felt great. I came up with the following reasons.

1. Fuel. Last night Chris and I went to Five Guys and I had a little burger with no cheese, no mayo, with lettuce, grilled mushrooms, pickles, ketchup and mustard. I was trying to be good even though it was Five Guys. Me and Chris also split an order of fries, but we didn’t finish the whole thing.

Image

2. Humidity. When I went out to run I was amazed at how warm it was. Probably in the upper 60s with lots of humidity. I haven’t run in weather like that in months.
3. Hydration. I was thirsty while I was running. I made a vow to myself that I need to drink more water today.
Image
4. Rest. I have been really busy the past few days and going and going. I also wondered if just waking up had anything to do with it. I normally don’t run first thing in the AM. I did walk for about 5 min to warm up though.

I kept pushing and ended up doing 2.5 miles in about 30 minutes. I even walked a little at the end of mile 2. Not a very inspiring run, but it was a run and it was workout.

What do you think is the most important factor in feeling good while running?

6 thoughts on “Legs of Lead

  1. I think lots of things can be factors. Definitely fuel, hydration, rest — but you know, sometimes we just don’t have the best run. Even when everything has been spot on. It just happens. You got out there and did 2.5 miles, regardless of your pace, that’s more than most. Have a great Friday and here’s hoping your next run feels wonderful! 🙂

  2. I think its a combination of everything; but most importantly the fact you don’t normally run in the morning must have got you. Its an adjustment when you change your run time and the important thing is you kept at it even though it didn’t feel awesome. Good job and keep it up!

  3. Pingback: Shin Splints « chasingamile

  4. I definitely think everyone has easy runs and harder runs. It can be anything you listed above to your attitude to just chocking it up to an off day. Don’t let it get you down (I know you wont!). It happens even to the best runners! ❤

Leave a Reply

