Heart of the Matter

Last Thursday night I dove into Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin and finished by Sunday evening. I have read all of her previous books and enjoyed them all. I even just recently watched Something Borrowed which was her first book turned into a movie. HotM had been sitting on my shelf for quite some time so I decided to pick it up and I am glad I did!

Quick synopsis…

From Publishers Weekly

In the popular Giffin’s latest, Nick Russo is a pediatric plastic surgeon; his wife, Tessa (sister of Dex, from Something Borrowed), is a professor turned stay-at-home mom living a cushy life in Boston. Nick is called in to care for a six-year-old burn victim, and Nick’s devotion to his work is soon tangled up in his attraction to the boy’s mother, Valerie, a single attorney. Narrated in turn by Tessa and Valerie, the action centers around—will they or won’t they, and, if they do, will Tessa forgive him? While unclear what Nick finds so unsatisfying in his marriage, adultery is always tempting and Tessa and Valerie both have their charms. Longtime fans will enjoy the cameos, but for the best of Giffin, don’t miss her earlier works.

**If you haven’t read this book yet and plan to, you may want to stop here**

1) Was it a good book? Yes. There were some times when I wanted to throw the book across the room, but when it was said and done I liked it. The ending message was a good one of forgiveness, and not just in marriage.

2) Would you recommend it? Yes. I would recommend this book and all of Emily’s books. Being a newlywed, the ideas of marriage becoming dull and husbands straying really bothered me more than it normally does, so maybe stay away if you are newlywed.

3) What did you like about it? This book really sucked me in and I kept wanting to read it. As I said above, I finished in 3 days. I can’t remember the last time I have read a book so quickly, and it was refreshing! I also liked how it was told from two different perspectives, Tessa, the wife, and Valerie, the other woman.

4) What did you dislike about it? I really did not like Nick, Tessa’s husband. It was him who made me want to throw the book across the room.

Other comments/thoughts/questions:

There are a lot of other relationship dynamics in this book (motherhood, friendship, infidelity) so if you enjoy reading books about those topics I would also suggest reading.

I am happy to see that Emily Giffin is coming out with another book later this year, Where We Belong. I also tried to figure out if any of her other books are going to become movies, but I couldn’t find any info on it while doing some light internet searching.

Overall, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Have you read any of Emily Giffin’s books?

5 thoughts on “Heart of the Matter

Leave a Reply

