Mile Test

In school (middle and high) did you have to run a timed mile in gym class? I think we did it once a year and I always dreaded it. I don’t ever remember even breaking a 10:00min mile. It was the worst! Tonights workout included a mile test and it was much better than high school days!

I started off with a 5 min walking warm up and then did some jogging/walking for about 10 more minutes. Then I decided that I would run a mile straight pushing myself pretty hard and see how I did.

I started off feeling good but about .5 mile in I was starting to feel it in my legs, but I kept pushing myself. As I got up to .75 I was really feeling it but I pushed it out and finished at 9:20. Not awesome, but not super sucky either. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would say I was at about 8.5 towards the end of the run.

After that I walked it out for about another 15 minutes and came home and did some quick strength work.
15 push ups
1 min bicycle crunches
Repeat 2x
15 tricep dips
45 sec plank
Repeat 2x

So, I would love to be able to run a 9:20/mile for an entire 10K. I am excited that I have the Garmin 305 now because I think it is going to help me train to get faster. Besides incorporating tempo runs into my training are there any others ways to get faster? Thoughts from the blogworld are welcome!

Leave a Reply

