Two Firsts

Today was my first workout of the New Year as well as my first workout with my new Garmin Forerunner 305! It was a really nice day in Charleston (high in the low 70s!) so I really wanted to get outdoors and take advantage of the weather before it cools down tomorrow.

It’s been awhile since I have been consistently running and I think I have only run twice since our wedding on November 5th! Needless to say my workout today was tough but even tougher because I was pushing myself to pace under a 10:00/mile.

Today’s Workout:

5 min walking warm-up

Repeat 5x

3 min run under a 10:00/mile pace

2 min walk

After 5 sets of this I was pretty burnt so I walked for longer than 2 minutes and then decided to do another 3 minute run at a 10:45/mi pace.

I wrapped it up with a walk to cool down.

Workout: 43 min covering 3.05 miles

My plan is to run the Cooper River Bridge Run in late March in under 60 minutes so I need to increase my running interval times by Monday, January 9th at the latest.

Garmin thoughts: overall I was pretty happy with it. I don’t know all the cool functions it can do yet but I loved being able to know how fast I was running without being on a treadmill

Do you have a Garmin Forerunner 305? What are some basic things I need to know about it?

Leave a Reply

