Lucky Foods

There are a few foods you are supposed to eat on New Years that will bring you good luck in the New Year but most of them just don’t sound appetizing to me!

Growing up my mom always made sauerkraut and kielbasa on New Years Day. I was never a fan of it, the sauerkraut smelled horrible. So this year I wanted to find a good luck food I could make that both the hubby and I would enjoy.

While searching the internet I found Cowboy Cavier, a bean type salsa that includes one good luck food, black eyed peas. I found a few recipes via Allrecipes.com and made my own variation of it.

Cowboy Caviar

1 can black eyed peas
1 can black beans drained and rinsed (I used low sodium)
1 can whole kernel corn
1 pint of cherry tomatoes, quartered
1 small yellow onion, diced
1/2 green pepper, diced
2 jalapeños (we took out the seeds but I think and the final product isn’t spicy so I wish we would have left the seeds in)
1 tablespoon minced garlic
3 tablespoons EVOO
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
3 tablespoons lite Italian salad dressing
1 bunch of green onions

Mix all ingredients together and let sit in fridge overnight. When I make this again I will leave in the jalapeño seeds as well add some cilantro as other recipes I found did. We ate it with some Tostitos Scoops.

Do you eat certain foods for luck in the new year? If so, what are they?

Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

