The Hunger Games

I am on a roll with reading lately and it feels good. In 2 weeks I have blown through 2 books. Maybe that explains my lack of blogging??

With all the hype of the movie release of The Hunger Games I decided to pick it up and get reading. It had been sitting on my book shelf for close to a year.

1) Was it a good book? Yes. Although, I did think it was highly predictable. It could be because it is EVERY WHERE right now.

2) Would you recommend it? Yes. When books are so big in pop culture I always think you should read them.

3) What did you like about it? Katniss. I loved her strength for such a young girl. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I hear she is played very well.

4) What did you dislike about it? It was predictable and some times I thought it was cheesy. I am not an expert writer but the writing bothered me. Many times I had to go back and re-read sentences.

Other comments/thoughts/questions:
I hear the movie is really good and even people who didn’t read the book like it. I also hear guys like it. I am hoping to go see it in the next week or so.

Overall I would give it 3.5 out of 5 stars, based on the fact that I went in with such high expectations. It let me down a little.

Have you seen the movie yet? Do you buy into all the movie/book hype?

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. Pingback: The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes « chasingamile

  2. I’m reading the third one, Mockingbird, at the moment. I loved the first one, found the second a bit… eh… but am not far enough into the third yet to have made a decision on that. I am looking forward to seeing the film too!

Leave a Reply

